Review of The Reader by M.K. Harkins

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Possibly

Review:

I want to start off by saying that I really liked the premise for this book. It had a cool scifi/fantasy vibe that I was immediately excited about. While there were some parts I quite enjoyed, overall, I was kind of disappointed by this book. It all felt a little too cliche for my taste.

The characters had so much potential. Ann seemed like she was going to be a tough, smart, sassy young woman. And I think that was what Harkins was going for. But, sometimes she came off as a bit too whiny for my taste. And I started to get really annoyed by the amount of times she talked about how beautiful all the other mind readers were. But, of course, she couldn’t understand why anyone thought she was beautiful (even though they all told her how gorgeous she was on multiple occasions). It just got a little too much at times.

And love triangles. This is more of a personal preference, but I generally have a really hard time with love triangles. Most of the time they feel pretty unnecessary, and I think this was a case where that was true. Actually, in this case it was more than just a love triangle. More of a love square? Either way, I didn’t particularly care for it. But, if those are your jam, you might really like how it’s done in this book. Again, that was more of a “It’s not you, it’s me” thing.

Overall, I did enjoy reading this book. It annoyed me at times and I wish certain elements had been different/done better. But, I’m glad I gave it a read. The plot itself is pretty interesting, and the world Harkins created is really cool.

Leave a Reply

