Review of Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Rating: 3.5/5

Recommend: Yes

Review:

I was really excited when I had the chance to read Nyxia. I mean, when a book has space, aliens, and an interesting premise it’s obviously going to have quite the potential. and I have to say, overall, this book did not disappoint. I would have loved more alien interactions, but I’m hoping that will happen in book two (and based off the ending, I’m assuming my hopes will be rewarded).

I will say, I’m starting to get a tiny bit tired of the whole competition trope. It seems like so many stories center around a group of young people fighting in a ruthless competition for some prize. I think Reintgen did a good job changing things up a bit so it wasn’t so predictable. But I did feel like there were some elements I’ve seen way too many times. There were also a few pacing issues and some parts felt a bit forced.

The characters definitely made up for any frustrations with the plot though. I loved the development and interactions of them all as they trained and competed. Each person had their own unique personality and backstory. Which was so great. I found myself rooting for almost everyone at one point or another. I just wanted to give them all a giant hug! Well, maybe not all of them, but most.

I think this book did a really good job setting up the scene for the next book. There were a few parts I thought could have been done better, but all in all, I really enjoyed reading Nyxia. If you’re a fan of YA science fiction books, I would definitely recommend giving Nyxia a read.

Leave a Reply

