Review of Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Rating: 4/5

Recommend: Yes!

Review:

I’ve been hearing a loooottt of good things about Mask of Shadows. Which made me both excited and a bit nervous when I finally got my hands on it. Sometimes books with a lot of hype turn out to be amazing and I fall completely in love…other times not so much. So I approached Mask of Shadows with some trepidation. But I am thrilled to say my nerves were completely unnecessary. BECAUSE THIS BOOK WAS SO MUCH FUN! I loved it! And I really need more. Right this second, please.

As per usual, I’m going to talk about the characters first. I could probably spend a few thousand words talking about how great these characters are, but since I don’t want you guys to die of boredom, I’ll keep it short and sweet. First off, DIVERSITY and complex characters. I rarely see genderfluid character, much less one that is the lead. And it was so well done too! Plus, Sal is just a gem of a character. I will say, though, there are a lot of characters in this book. It was a little hard to keep track of everyone, especially the ones who were referred to by a number. But that wasn’t a huge issue most of the time.

The plot was a little predictable at times, and I would have liked a few more details on some things. But overall, I thought it was really well done. It kept my interested up until the very last page!

If you haven’t guessed, I definitely would recommend this. If you like fantasy and slightly amoral characters, you should give this one a read!

Thank you to NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire for the chance to read this in exchange for an honest review!

Leave a Reply

