Review of The List by Patricia Ford

Rating: 4/5

Recommend: Yes!!!!

Review:

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading The List. I’m a huge fan of dystopian books and the description sounded intriguing, but I was still not sure what to think. Well, I can now safely say that this book was so good! I might not have had many expectations going in, but even if I had, I’m guessing The List would have exceeded them.

Let’s talk about the plot first. I don’t want to go into too much detail and ruin anything for people, but this was such a unique story. As someone who’s read quite a few dystopian books, I honestly don’t think I’ve read anything quite like it. There were aspects of many different classic stories and the plot was a little predictable, but somehow it still felt like a new story. And as a lover of words, I found it to be especially powerful. This book may be short, but it certainly packs a punch.

And of course there’s the characters. I adored Letta. She has plenty of spirit, but she’s also struggling with her own beliefs and fears. I loved her development over the course of the story. It’s unfortunate that this was so short because I would have loved to see even more of her. I’m thinking there’s a sequel to this and I really hope that’s the case.

If you like dystopian books, I would highly recommend reading The List. I had a few difficulties getting into the story, mostly because of the dialogue in regards to some characters (if you read it, I think you’ll know exactly what I mean). But overall, I enjoyed this so much. It’s beautifully written and the story itself is a lot of fun. I don’t think you’ll regret checking this one out!

Thank you to NetGalley and Sourcebooks Jabberwocky for providing this book in exchange for an honest review!

One thought on “Review of The List by Patricia Ford

Leave a Reply

