Review of Teeth of Gods by Sarah K.L. Wilson

Rating: 2.5/5

Recommend: Possibly

Review:

I was really torn about what to rate this book. On the one hand, I think the concept is interesting, and the world definitely had potential. But, I had a really had time getting into this book and part of that was because of how annoyed I got with Tylira. So, there were some really good aspects, but overall I wasn’t as fond of this book as I was hoping.

So let’s start off with talking about the characters. Like I said, Tylira was just not my cup of tea. Normally I love a strong, fearless character who might be a little impulsive but ultimately has a good heart. So in theory, Tylira should have been exactly my kind of character. But, sometimes I just couldn’t handle her stupidity and complete lack of awareness of anyone else but herself. I get she was socially isolated, but it all just seemed a bit much to me.

And honestly, the way she describes Rusk really got on my nerves. If I had a dollar for every time she mentioned how gorgeous or chiseled he was, I’d probably have enough money to quit my day job and just read all day. Okay, that might be a tad bit of an exaggeration, but she definitely mentions it a lot.

But, in spite of all those complaints, I did like some parts of the book. Like Alsoon. He was so precious and wonderful and I just wanted to give him a huge hug. And the concept was different from what I’ve normally come to except from fantasy novels, so that was also a plus.

So, would I recommend this book to others? I’m honestly not sure. I mean, I’m glad I read this and I enjoyed parts of it, but overall it left me kind of feeling…eh. It’s well written, but some of the characters kind of drag the story down a bit.

Leave a Reply

