Review of The Roar by A.M. White

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Possibly

Review:

I’m so conflicted right now. On the one hand, the concept is so cool. I mean, a dystopian world AND there are aliens? That’s two of my favorite things combined together. I wanted to love this book so much. But…then there was the writing. This felt like a a rough draft more than a finished product. So, what to do? I’m honestly not sure. If this were based off concept alone, I’d go with 4 out of 5. And yet, I think I’m going to have to stick with 3.

So let’s look at some of my issues with this book first. Like I said, there were quite a few rough spots. To begin with, the transition between scenes was pretty abrupt and jumpy. Sometimes it felt like things were happening simply because the author wanted them to be that way and not as a natural progression of the story. And there needed to be a lot more world building. I feel like I have a little bit of an idea of how things got to be where they are, but I found myself constantly hoping for more details and information. That would have helped a lot.

The characters were alright. I really liked Cara a lot, although Timothy occasionally got on my nerves (especially when he went into overprotective mode). Alex was a pretty solid main character, but I would have liked to see a little more of her personality shine through. I also wish we could have learned more about Cara and Timothy’s backstories because I think that could have bulked up their character development even more.

I know I spent a bit talking about all the things I wasn’t as fond of, but despite all my complaints, I really did enjoy this story a lot. And based off that ending, I could see a lot of potential in book number two. So I think I’m going to check out the second book and give this series one more chance.

Leave a Reply

