Review of Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

Rating: 3.5/5

Recommend: Probably

Review:

As many of you know, space is 100% my jam. So when I saw a spacey book written by an author I’d wanted to check out, of course I had to read it. And overall, I thought this was a pretty good book. I loved the concept, although I think the execution could have been a little better. But, yeah. I liked this book and I’d definitely recommend it.

It took me a little bit to get into the story. While there was plenty of action and excitement, I felt a little removed from the action. I think my problem was I still didn’t really understand what was happening, so I was less invested in the story. Later on, once I had a better idea about what was happening, I stared caring a looot more for the characters.

The characters themselves were okay. Abel was pretty awesome and I enjoyed watching his journey. But Noemi was just…eh. She wasn’t a bad character by any means. But I kind of feel like I’ve already read her character a couple hundred times. There wasn’t a whole lot that stood out about her. Although I did enjoy watching her learn more about the universe. That was pretty cool.

So, to sum it up, I liked this book. There were things I didn’t care for, but I still had a really good time reading this. If it looks like something you’d like, I’d definitely say check it out!

Thanks to NetGalley and Little, Brown for providing this book in exchange for an honest review!

Leave a Reply

