Review of The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Possibly

Review:

I’ll be honest. I wasn’t actually planning to read this book. I know a lot of people loved Twilight, and that is absolutely great. But it wasn’t for me. So when I saw that Stephanie Meyer had come out with a new series, I didn’t pay much attention. But someone I really admire and respect, who has excellent taste in books, recommended I give The Host a shot. And I’m glad I did.

I love alien stories. When I was little I used to hope that aliens would land in our backyard (friendly aliens, of course). And I’ll be honest, that still sounds pretty dang cool. Anyway, the fact that the premise of The Host is that a group of aliens have taken over the planet immediately made me more interested. I think the plot of this book was actually pretty solid. There were a few parts that I felt were a little weird or unbelievable, but overall I was kind of impressed.

The characters, for the most part, were enjoyable. There were a few that drove me nuts, like Melanie and Jared. But, there were also some pretty cool ones, like Wanderer and Jamie. One problem I had, though, was overall character development. Sometimes a character would change their mind about something or make a decision and I didn’t have much of an idea of where that motivation came from.

So, to sum it up, if you’re on the fence about reading The Host, I’d say give it a shot. It isn’t the most amazing book I’ve ever read, but it was actually a lot better than I expected. Although I’m not sure if I’ll continue with the series, I am really glad I read this one.

Leave a Reply

