Review of Dreadnought by April Daniels

Rating: 3.5/5

Recommend: Yep!

Review:

As soon as I heard about Dreadnought, I knew I had to get my hands on a copy. I mean, superheroes AND a trans girl as the lead? Sign me the heck up for that. And I’m so incredibly glad I got the chance to read it.

In the world of Dreadnought, superpowers are just a regular fact of life. It’s not uncommon to see couriers flying through the air on delivery missions, or a crazy super villain crash through a building. Danny has known about these things her whole life, but it’s one thing to read stories about superpowers. Having them yourself is quite another matter. When Danny accidentally witnesses the death of the world-famous superhero, Dreadnought, she suddenly finds herself with powers she never dreamed possible.

One of my favorite parts of this book is that despite the big battles and crazy superpowers, the main focus is on the characters themselves. They truly drive this story. Especially Danny, who I love so much and just want the absolute best for. But really, there were so many wonderful characters in this book.

Dreadnought manages a good balance between being a quirky superhero story, while at the same time tackling some pretty heavy and upsetting topics. Danny faces a whole host of discrimination and abuse for being trans. But at the same time, I loved seeing the amount of support Danny found as well with characters who were willing to accept her exactly as she was.

My biggest complaint was the plot itself. I feel like the world building needed a lot of work and I’d like to know more about how exactly this world became how it is. Plus, I found myself getting kind of confused about what exactly was happening in the story sometimes. I also feel like the first half of the book moved really slow. But things definitely picked up during the second half.

Despite my occasional confusion, I still really enjoyed Dreadnought. If you enjoy superhero stories like the Avengers and Ms. Marvel, then you should definitely check this out. I can’t wait to read the next book!

Thank you to NetGalley and Diversion Publishing for providing this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

