Review of Resistance by Mikhaeyla Kopievsky

Rating: 4/5

Recommend: Yes

Review:

Thank you to NetGalley and KYRIJA for providing a copy of Resistance in exchange for an honest review!

I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect from Resistance. It sounded like the type of book I would love, but I was a little apprehensive going in because I was afraid it would feel too cliche. But let me tell you,my fears were definitely misplaced. This was such an interesting and engrossing book. I’m so glad I decided to give it a try.

In the world of Resitance, humans are divided into four separate Elements: water, fire, air, and earth. Anaiya is a Fire Element, charged with maintaining “Orthodoxy” at all costs (basically meaning everyone should do exactly what they’re told and not go against the grain). Her entire world is turned upside down when she is sent on an undercover mission to route out the city’s resistance group.

I found the whole concept to be really intriguing. Although I wish there would have been a little more time spent on world building. I feel like I have a pretty good idea of what the world is like and why it’s that way, but I still found myself needing a bit more description. Especially in the beginning.

Anaiya’s character development was fantastic. While at times I was frustrated with her decisions, every one of them seemed to make sense with what I knew about her during each stage of the book. I would have liked to get to know some of the other characters a little better, but given how this book was written I can see how that might be hard to do.

All in all, Resistance is a great read. If you’re a fan of dystopias and futuristic stories, I would highly recommend checking this book out. I’m excited to see where Kopievsky takes the story next!

Leave a Reply

