Review of the Blazing Star by Imani Josey

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Possibly

Review:

This book has been coming up on my radar for a few months now, so when I got the chance to read it, I knew I needed to check it out. Thank you to NetGalley and Wise Ink for providing a copy in exchange for an honest review!

Time travel stories are tricky for me, so I knew going into this that it could either be a hit or miss for me. But, I actually think the time travel aspect worked really well with the book. It made sense and while I feel like it could have potentially fallen into a few time travel traps, overall I thought it was handled great. Of course, I also happen to really love ancient Egypt, so that certainly didn’t hurt at all.

My biggest complaint was the beginning. I had such a hard time getting into this book and it seemed to have a painfully slow start. Once the story picked up, though, I could hardly put The Blazing Star Down. The ending was especially great.

I also had a hard time feeling really attached to the characters, especially some of the side characters. I liked the characters for the most part, but I didn’t feel as connected to them as I’d have liked. Part of that might have been due to the beginning being a little dull. Again, once I got into the story and things picked up, I also found myself feeling more invested in the characters as well.

Despite my issues, I did enjoy this book a lot. This was a unique take on time travel. I’m interested to see where Josey takes the story next!

Leave a Reply

