Review of The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Possibly

Review:

Thank you to NetGalley and Ballantine Books for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The Girl Before is a psychological thriller, centering around two women, Emma and Jane. Emma and Jane both moved One Folgate Street for a fresh start. But this isn’t an ordinary house and both women quickly discover fresh starts are not as easy as they seem.

This was a really interesting book, with plenty of intrigue and twists to keep you guessing until the very end. I thought the story itself was pretty good. And the ending tied things up nicely, but left enough room for the imagination so it didn’t feel too contrived.

I wasn’t as fond of the characters, unfortunately. Emma was definitely a complex and interesting woman, but I found her just a bit too contrived for my taste. I had a hard time feeling a lot of sympathy for her and she grated on my nerves a lot toward the end. And Edward was just way too much. I don’t see the draw to controlling, abusive, jerks and he is a painful example of exactly that kind of man. I did like Jane for the most part though. Unlike Emma, Jane actually grew on me as the book progressed. By the end, she was definitely my favorite character.

Despite my issues with the characters, I did like this book for the most part. it had its issues, that’s for sure, but I’m still glad I gave it a read. For people who were a fan of Gone Girl and other similar stories, it might be one to check out.

Leave a Reply

