Review of Shadow Study (Study #4) by Maria V. Snyder

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Yes, if you liked the rest of the series

Review:

After Fire Study ended, I found myself seriously missing Yelena and the rest of the gang. So, it was such a happy surprise when I realized there were more books in this series. I have really enjoyed Maria V Snyder’s books and Yelena is such a fantastic character. As you can imagine, I was pretty eager to read Shadow Study.

That being said, this book was a bit disappointing. The story was pretty good, although a little on the slow side. And the plot didn’t seem to flow particularly well, especially with the flashbacks. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed what I learned in the flashbacks, but they seemed to have been put in rather randomly and didn’t mesh well with the rest of the story.

But, the characters were great as usual. I loved getting to see all of my favorites again and meeting some fascinating new ones. I could see some great character development and I’m still so invested in their lives that I really need to see what happens to them.

Overall, despite some complaints, I really did enjoy this book for the most part. I already have the second book checked out from the library and will definitely be delving into it shortly! If you enjoyed the previous books in this series, I would recommend giving this one a read.

Leave a Reply

