Review of Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

Rating: 2/5

Recommend: Eh, maybe

Review:

Thanks to NetGalley for providing a copy of this in exchange for a review!

I really wanted to love Ever the Hunted. The description was awesome and I’ve heard positive reviews from other people. I mean, it sounded like the kind of book I would 100% get on board with and love. Unfortunately, this book ended up being just…eh.

This book is filled with familiar tropes and reads similarly to a lot of other YA fantasy books out there. Now, don’t get me wrong, I have no problem with tropes. There’s a reason you see these themes in so many books. Sometimes they work beautifully. But this was not one of those times.

I mean, the characters. Honestly, that was the biggest issue for me. Britta drove me bonkers. I mean, the girl is supposed to be this savvy, powerful person who’s skills at tracking are among the best in the country. And I did see evidence of her tracking skills, I’ll admit that. But as far as intelligence and common sense go…ugh. I lost count of the number of times I had to stop reading and roll my eyes at something she did. It was just wayyyy too much for my taste.

And Cohen. Not a huge fan of him either. He was just so controlling. And again with a lack of intelligence. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: common sense goes a looonnnnggg way, people.

But this book wasn’t all bad. I thought the actual plot and premise was really interesting. Sometimes the pacing was weird and I could do with a little less telling the reader exactly what they should think about a character. Overall though, I didn’t have too many problems with the story itself. If I had liked the characters better, I think I could have enjoyed this book a lot more than I did.

Leave a Reply

