Review of The Darkest Part Of The Forest by Holly Black

Rating: 4/5

Recommend: Yes!

Review:

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading The Darkest Part of the Forest. And at first, I didn’t think I’d like it. I found myself getting a little bored and annoyed with the characters. But, the more I read, the more I fell in love with this book. By the end, I was genuinely sad to be finished.

I loved the fairytale feel to the story. It felt like reading one of the Grimm’s tales; dark and a little twisted, but enchanting and whimsical at the same time. And the writing was absolutely lovely. I’ve never read anything by Holly Black before, but now I definitely need to check out lore of her books.

There were times when I wasn’t fond of the characters, and I had a few problems with some plot points, but overall I found it to be an enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

