Review of The Courtesan’s Avenger by Kate M. Colby

Rating: 4/5

Recommend: Definitely!

Review:

Yet again Colby has succeeded in creating a delightfully engrossing tale. This had all the elements of a great murder mystery, while at the same time building upon a unique and fascinating world. It’s like a murder mystery fantasy book. I absolutely loved Deserta when I was introduced to the world in The Cogsmith’s Daughter and now I find myself enjoying it even more.

The book seemed a bit slow to start off, which was one of the reasons I didn’t give it a full five stars. I also feel like there were a few minor plot points that could have been answered and wrapped up better. And I would have loved to have Aya in the book more, as she is one of my favorite characters in the series. Other than that, though, I had such a wonderful time reading The Courtesan’s Avenger.

I loved that each character had their own unique development and personality. It was easy to understand what motivated each of them to act the way they did. And I could find parts of almost all of them that I could relate to. I really cared what happened to these characters, which more me is one of the most important aspects of a book.

Overall, I’d highly recommend The Courtesan’s Avenger (and The Cogsmith’s Daughter, if you haven’t read that one yet). I can’t wait for book three to come out!

Leave a Reply

