Review of The Atlantis Gene by A.G. Riddle

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Possibly

Review:

This book was really difficult for me to rate. At first, I wasn’t a fan of The Atlantis Gene. In fact, I almost stopped reading it because I just couldn’t get into the story. But, then the last eighty or so pages drew me in and I really enjoyed the book. So, I wasn’t sure exactly I wanted to rate the book.

Here’s my big problem. On the one hand, The Atlantis Gene really does have an interesting plot – it just takes a bit of brainpower to actually understand what that plot is. For one, the story is so jumpy and disjointed that I often had a hard time keeping everything straight. There are numerous different perspectives, and even a few different time periods. Sometimes I found myself getting mixed up and confused about who’s perspective I was actually reading. That made it difficult to focus on the story and connect with the characters.

Which brings me to a second issue I had with the book: the characters. Now, I do think Riddle did a good job building real, believable characters for the most part. I could understand why each character made the choices they made, even if I didn’t always agree with said choices. The problem for me was I didn’t really feel invested in any of the characters. I mean, I liked some of them, but I didn’t love any of them. I could recognize the fact that they were well-developed, but I still couldn’t feel that connection with them. I’m not really sure why though, which was frustrating because I really wanted to like these characters.

Overall, I enjoyed The Atlantis Gene. I wasn’t as invested in this book as I wanted to be, but I still found it to be an interesting read. I’m still trying to decide if I want to read the second book, but I’m glad I gave this one a read.

Leave a Reply

