Review of The Jekyll Revelation by Robert Masello

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Probably

Review:

I received a Copy of The Jekyll Revelation from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The best way I can think of to describe this book is that it’s a mix of fanfiction , historical fiction, classic retelling, and horror. I haven’t read many books like The Jekyll Revelation, which made for a nice, refreshing change. I wasn’t sure about the whole concept of the book at first, but the more I read of it the more I started really liking the idea.

I was initially drawn to this book because I absolutely love Jekyll and Hyde. So the fact that this book was kind of a retelling of sorts immediately caught my interest. I find that whole idea so fascinating. While this is not quite as gripping and thought provoking as the story which inspired it, I still enjoyed reading The Jekyll Revelation. At times I thought the plot moved a bit slow. Particularly at the beginning, I had a harder time focusing on the story. But once things began picking up I enjoyed myself a lot more.

I also had a hard time connecting with the characters. That, for me, was what made things hardest. The characters were all decently developed and they were interesting for the most part. But I couldn’t seem to connect and feel attached to them. So when their lives were in danger, I felt less nervous about what might happen to them.

All that being said, I’m really glad I read this book. I would recommend The Jekyll Revelation to any fans of Robert Louis Stevenson. Or really anyone that enjoys a unique, suspenseful story.

Leave a Reply

