Review of A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Rating: 5/5

Recommend: YES YES YES YES!!!!!

Review:

This may, in fact, be my favorite book of 2016. It’s definitely at the top of the list if nothing else. Please do yourself a favor and read this gem if you haven’t already.

A Darker Shade of Magic is a delightful, intriguing story where there are 4 separate Londons, all encompassed in their own unique worlds. Kell is one of the rare people who can travel between the Londons, exploring worlds most people can only dream of. Lila is a thief who dreams of adventure. Together, they make the toughest, smartest, most insane team any of the worlds have known.

As you might have guessed, I LOVED this book. Lila is one of my all-time favorite characters. Her mixture of cheeky sass and dangerous ruthlessness won me over almost immediately. And her interactions with Kell are just so entertaining. I felt like every character was so well developed, each with their own histories and personalities.

Then there was the world itself – or, should I say worlds. Each London had it’s own flavor and quirks. They were so real, so detailed, that I fell like I could step right into any of them. I was completely fascinated by these worlds and the people inhabiting them.

To reiterate my point: READ THIS BOOK! It’s so fascinating and unique. I was not expecting to love this book as much as I did, but now I’m totally hooked into the story. Thank goodness the second book is already out!

Leave a Reply

