Review of Subject 375 by Nikki Owens

Rating: 2/5

Recommend: Not really

Review:

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Subject 375 follows the experiences of Maria Martinez, who is convicted of a murder she has no memory of committing. Thrown into a terrifying world which forces her to question her very sanity, Maria must find a way to survive and discover the truth before it is too late.

I’m afraid Subject 375 wasn’t quite for me. Unreliable narrators can be an enormously powerful tool in a book, or they can also create a confusing, disjointed book. Unfortunately, I found the latter here. This book was meant to be a little confusing, given the nature of the plot. And a certain level of confusion in a book is totally fine because it generally adds to the suspense. But in this case, things were so scrambled and jumpy that half the time I honestly wasn’t sure exactly what was going on. I almost stopped reading, but the plot that I did understand was interesting enough that I wanted to see this book through to the end.

I also had a problem with the way autism was treated in this book. It seemed like the author trivialized and almost looked down on those with autism. People were always telling Maria, who has Asperger’s that she couldn’t be trusted or taken seriously because of her autism. That just didn’t sit well with me. I really don’t think that was something intentional on Nikki Owens’ part though.

Sorry for the kind of long rant about this book. Despite what my comments may suggest, I didn’t hate this book. There were some good things about it too. Subject 375 is an interesting story that certainly keeps the reader guessing until the very end. It wasn’t my cup of tea, but I can see why someone else might like this book.

Leave a Reply

