Review of The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Probably

Review:

I’ve been hearing about this book for YEARS and have been debating for a while if I wanted to read it. I finally decided to give it a try since so many people seem to adore this series. Maybe it was because of all the hype, but I found myself a little disappointed.
Don’t get me wrong, the book was good and I did enjoy it for the most part, although it took be about sixty pages to really get into the story. The plot is certainly unique and different from what I often see in urban young adult fantasy. And the characters were very well developed. But, even so, I had a hard time connecting with them. None of them particularly stood out to me. Now, this might have been because after hearing so much about them I felt like I already knew the characters before I started so I didn’t have as much fun getting to know them through he story. I’m not sure.
All in all, I’m glad I read this book. The Raven Boys is a unique and interesting story. I’d recommend giving it a read if you haven’t yet because I do think it’s a good book. I’m still deciding about reading the second book, but I think I’ll end up reading it because I heard the series gets better from here.

Leave a Reply

