Review of The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

Rating: 4/5

Recommend: YES!

Review:

Wow. I don’t think I’ve ever read such a unique, diverse, surprising fantasy book. It’s difficult to really describe what this book is about, but I can say with one hundred percent confidence that it’s well worth a read. Not only is there a plethora of diverse characters, but the writing style itself is refreshingly unique. I know I keep talking about how different and diverse this book is, but honestly that’s the best way I can think of to describe The Fifth Season. It’s unlike anything I’ve read before.
I will say, however, that sometimes this story is hard to follow. It took me about sixty pages to really get into the story. And even then there were times I needed to reread certain sections because I found myself getting a little lost. But the effort was more than worthwhile. I’m so glad I gave this book a chance and I’m so excited to see where the story goes from here.

Leave a Reply

