Review of A Wizard’s Forge by A.M. Justice

Rating: 3.5/4

Recommend: Yes

Review:

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
A Wizard’s Forge tells the story on Vic, a young woman who is ripped away from her home and forced into a horrific nightmare. When she finally escapes, Vic is a different person-one intent on making her captor pay for every moment of abuse she suffered at his hands.
This is a dark, sometimes disturbing book that affected me much more than I expected it to. It was an interesting story and it really sucked me in. The characters were fascinating, especially Vic, who I felt connected to very quickly.
I also thought the world building was really well done. There were so many different cultures and beliefs, but I didn’t feel overwhelmed. I’m eager to learn more about this world. It wasn’t as science fiction-y as I was expecting. The book had more of a steampunk/epic fantasy feel than sci fi. But I still liked it a lot.
One of my complaints is in regards to the pacing. Sometimes the plot moved painfully slow, while other times things went so fast I had trouble keeping up. I would have liked a little steadier pace for the book.
All in all, I’d recommend this book. It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, but I still enjoyed reading A Wizard’s Forge.

Leave a Reply

