Review of The Fading Dusk by Melissa Giorgio

Rating: 4/5

Recommend: Definitely

Review:

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
In The Fading Dusk, magic is a thing of the past. Real magic hasn’t existed for a long time-at least that’s what Irina believes for most of her life. But that all changes when she’s uprooted from her quiet life as a magician’s assistant and thrown into a world of magic, danger and betrayal.
I was surprised how much I genuinely enjoyed The Fading Dusk. Based off the description, I thought it might be an interesting story, but I wasn’t expecting to become so engrossed in this book. The plot is certainly intriguing and kept me interested, but what really drew me into this story was the characters. I really loved Irina and instantly connected with her. From the first page, I became invested in her life, eager to learn how she fared against each new danger.
This book isn’t perfect. There were some pacing issues, with a few slow spots in the middle that kind of dragged. And I wasn’t fond of a few things that happened, particularly towards the end. But, overall, I enjoyed The Fading Dusk so much. It was a really great story and I cannot wait to read the second book.

Leave a Reply

