Review of Dreamshores by Mike Robinson

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Probably

Dreamshores explores what happens when the real world and dream world collide. It’s a fantastical tale about a young woman, aptly nicknamed”Monster Girl” who finds herself facing the very monsters she’s spent most of her life obsessing over.
I was really torn about the rating for this book. On the one hand, it’s such a unique and fascinating idea for a book. And I did feel a connection with Sierra Navada, the main character. I loved her spirit and passion. I wish some of the other characters could have been fleshed out a little more, however, because I feel like she was the only one I truly got to know.
My biggest problem with this book was a lack of a satisfying explanation for events that took place. I feel like Dreamshores could have benefited from at least a few more pages of world building and explaining exactly what was happening. The somewhat ambiguous quality of the story did make it feel more dream-like, which was likely the point. But as a reader, I found myself slightly frustrated at times because I wanted to know more about why things were happening.
Overall, I enjoyed Dreamshores. Despite the issues I had, I would probably still recommend this book. It’s definitely worth a read

Leave a Reply

