Review of The Dragon in the Garden by Erika Gardner

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Possibly

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The Dragon in the Garden wasn’t quite what I expected. I was originally drawn to this book because of the interesting premise and the fact that there’s dragons because dragons make everything better. My biggest problem with this book was so much happened in a relatively short time. There were dragons, angels, prophecies, demons, evil angels, hags…basically every mythological and fantastical creature imaginable. On the one hand, it was kind of cool to picture all of those creatures being real and engaging in an epic battle. But, with all of them added to the mix, I feel the story became a little too jumbled. AS a result, I found myself struggling to stay focused and connected to the plot. I think this book needed a little more time spent on explanations and allowing the reader to really understand what was happening. But I did enjoy aspects of this book, and the characters were interesting and well-developed. I’m glad I read this book, although I’m still not sure if I will read the sequel when it comes out.

Leave a Reply

