Review of Midnight Never Come by Marie Brennan

Rating: 3/5

Recommend: Maybe

Review:

I think this might be the lowest rating I’ve ever given a Marie Brennan book. Which makes me kind of sad, although even with the lower rating I did highly enjoy this book! It started off a bit slow and I had a really hard time getting into the story, but the last half more than made up for it.

At first I didn’t particularly care for most of the characters. It was hard to connect with any of them. But as I got to know them all better, I saw all the complexities and development. Lune in particular grew on me so much. She was definitely one of my favorites by the end.

And again with the plot, I had a hard time at first. The beginning moved really slow for me and I couldn’t quite figure out what was happening. Maybe my brain just wasn’t in the mood for this type of book at first. Because it’s definitely well-written and the last half was so great. So my initial issues could have been partially my own fault too.

All that being said, I would still probably recommend this book to fantasy fans. I loved the mixture of real history and magic. It was so cool, and a little bit creepy at the same time. I’m interested to see what happens in the rest of the series!

Leave a comment